Bowden Brewing, Galactic Battle Yak, American Pale

Supporting a team is hard work, following the emotional highs and lows of a game is almost as hard as being out on the field engaged in the struggle for dominance. I had spent a good part of the afternoon engaged in supporting and despite my enthusiastic attempts the wrong team had won. Now my throat was dry, and I was mildly disappointed. I needed something to cure both malaises. A beer was the ideal remedy.  

I am not really sure of the difference between a Pale Ale and an American Pale. This one was certainly pale. It was a very pale straw yellow and came with a mild cloudiness. The smell of grapefruit hung about the top of the beer but not so much as to indicate one of those hideous fruity beers.  

The first sip revealed an innocuous mild flavoured beer with the taste of grapefruit lurking in the background. It was nice, but not exceptional. 

Leave a comment